VRQA Board


The Minister for Education and the Minister for Training and Skills are responsible for the VRQA. 

VRQA Board

The VRQA is governed by an independent Board, which reports to the Ministers. Board membership is by appointment by the Governor in Council.

VRQA Board members are chosen because of the particular skills and experience they can bring to the work of the Board. Skills and experience relevant to the functions of the VRQA include education (school education, vocational education and training, adult community and further education), quality assurance, business management, institutional governance, law, finance and industry.

Pam White PSM (Chair)

Pam White

Appointed chair in 2016, current appointment ends 3 February 2019.

Ms Pam White PSM has had more than 30 years’ experience in senior management and leadership positions in the Victorian Public Service in both policy development and operations. She has worked in child protection, disability, housing, youth justice and emergency management. For two years, she led the State Services Authority (now the Victorian Public Sector Commission), the body responsible for public sector administration, governance, service delivery, and workforce management and development. In 2012, Ms White was awarded the Public Service Medal for her work improving services for vulnerable children and emergency management recovery services.

Gill Callister

Gill Callister (Ex Officio Member)

Ms Gill Callister is the Secretary of the Department of Education and Training

Elizabeth Alexander AM (Member)

Elizabeth Alexander

Appointed member in 2017, current appointment ends 16 October 2020.

Ms Elizabeth Alexander AM is the former Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, immediate past Chairman of CSL, Chair of Medibank Private and an adviser to Ashurst’s corporate team. She was the independent Chair of the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD) Portfolio Audit Committee (2003–10) and the Audit and Risk Committee of the Australian Prudential Regulations Authority (APRA) (2002–10).

Dr Julie Caldecott (Member)

Dr Julie Caldecott

Appointed member in 2017, current appointment ends 16 March 2020.

Dr Julie Caldecott has more than 20 years' experience as a consultant to the public and private sectors for Boston Consulting Group (BCG) where she was a Director and Partner until 2011. She trained as a medical practitioner prior to joining BCG and has an MBA from Melbourne Business School, University of Melbourne. Her previous Board memberships include non-executive directorships at the Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne; the Transport Accident Commission, Victoria; and the Institute for Safety, Compensation and Recovery Research. Dr Caldecott is also a non-executive Director of St John of God Healthcare Ltd and Chair of its Audit and Risk Management Committee, and a member of the Victorian Major Transport Infrastructure Board where she also chairs their Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Stephen Elder OAM (Member)

Stephen Elder

Appointed member in 2017, current appointment ends 16 October 2020.

Mr Stephen Elder OAM is the Executive Director of Catholic Education Melbourne and Executive Director of the Catholic Education Commission of Victoria. He is also Director and Company Secretary of Catholic Capital Grants (Vic) Ltd. Mr Elder is a member of the National Catholic Education Commission and a Senator of Australian Catholic University. He is a Director of Catholic Network Australia, a member of the Board of the Catholic Development Fund and a Director on the Mercy Health Foundation Board. Mr Elder is also a Director of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership. Mr Elder was a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly from 1988–99 in the Seat of Ballarat North and Ripon. During that time, he was the Parliamentary Secretary for Education.

Michael Perry (Member)

Michael Perry

Appointed member in 2017, current appointment ends 16 October 2020.

Mr Michael Perry is a retired chartered accountant. He has extensive experience in financial consulting services, with specialist skills in auditing, government services, public company floats and takeovers, the preparation of prospectuses, company valuations, corporate financing, risk management and internal audit structures. He is the current Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources (DEDJTR).

Richard (Rick) Tudor OAM (Member)

Richard (Rick) Tudor

Appointed member in 2011, current appointment ends 16 March 2020.

Mr Rick Tudor OAM was Headmaster of Trinity Grammar School, Kew for 15 years. Previously he was Deputy Headmaster (Curriculum) at The Peninsula School, Deputy Headmaster and Head of Senior School of Melbourne Grammar School, and Headmaster of Beaconhills Christian College.

Mr Tudor has contributed to the broader educational arena through involvement in the Association of Heads of Independent Schools, the Council of the Centre for Strategic Education, the Anglican Co-ordinating Committee on Education and as Chair of the Victorian Branch of the Anglican Schools’ Network. He is currently Chair of the ConocoPhillips Science Experience, a Board member of Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar School, the King David School, the Anglican Diocesan Schools’ Commission, Trinity College (University of Melbourne), the Chapter of St Paul’s Cathedral and the Melbourne Indigenous Transition School. He was previously a member of the Royal Woman’s Hospital Ethics Committee and of the Anglicare Victoria Board.

Michonne van Rees (Member)

Michonne van Rees

Appointed member in 2011, current appointment ends 16 March 2020.

Ms Michonne van Rees retired in 2011 as Regional Director (Gippsland) for DEECD, to establish a consultancy. Ms van Rees previously worked as a senior executive with Parks Victoria. She held senior leadership roles a number of state government departments, focusing on public sector and organisational reform, including the Department of Premier and Cabinet. She also worked within the TAFE sector. Ms van Rees has held a number of Board and committee positions, including membership of Monash University’s Gippsland Advisory Council.

Brian Welch (Member)

Brian Welch

Appointed member in 2014, current appointment ends 16 March 2020.

Mr Brian Welch recently retired as the Executive Director of the Master Builders Association of Victoria after 19 years of service. He was involved long-term with accredited training for the building industry and brings strong industry and governance experience to the Board. Mr Welch is currently a member of the Victorian Building Authority, was an inaugural member of the Building Advisory Council and is Secretary, Victorian Congress Employer Association.<

Mr Jim Williamson (Member)

Jim Williamson

Appointed member in 2016, current appointment ends 3 February 2019.

Mr Jim Williamson is the Director of a public policy research and program development company that for more than 20 years provided specialised advice to business, government and community organisations. During that time, he held senior management responsibilities at the Brotherhood of St Laurence in Community Development, Employment and Training; and was a Senior Policy Manager, Youth Transition at Mission Australia. Mr Williamson commenced as a secondary high school teacher, becoming a lecturer in education at the Melbourne College of Advanced Education. He then held senior policy officer roles at the Department of Education and Training, and the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet. He is currently on the school council of The Grange P–12 College.