Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Senior Secondary Accreditation and Awarding Bodies

Accreditation of senior secondary courses and qualifications

Senior secondary education is undertaken in Years 11 and 12. The VRQA accredits both qualifications and individual courses at senior secondary level.

Senior secondary qualifications available in Victoria are:

  • Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)
  • Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)
  • International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB Diploma).

Examples of individual senior secondary courses include:

  • VCE Languages 
  • VCE Dance
  • VCAL Personal Development.

The Guidelines and Standards for the Registration of Awarding Bodies and for the Accreditation of Senior Secondary Qualifications (pdf - 550.37kb) assist developers of senior secondary qualifications. 

Individual VCE and VCAL courses need to meet the VRQA Senior Secondary Course Accreditation Standards (pdf - 47.59kb) (course standards) to be accredited and entered on the State Register.

The Documentation for Senior Secondary Qualification Accreditation Applications (doc - 550.5kb) template is designed to assist in the development of qualifications for accreditation and re-accreditation, under the Guidelines and Standards for the Accreditation of Senior Secondary Qualifications that lead to an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) qualification or a record of achievement.

Awarding bodies

When students complete a senior secondary qualification or course, certification is awarded and issued by the relevant senior secondary awarding body.

The Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA) awards and issues the VCE and VCAL, while the International Baccalaureate (IB) awards and issues the IB Diploma in Victoria.

For more information email the Quality Assurance Schools Unit or phone (03) 9032 1546.