MCD Assessment Panel Report and public responses received

On 25 August 2011, the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority (VRQA) approved an application from the Melbourne College of Divinity to operate as a specialised university with the title ‘MCD University of Divinity’. Approval is for a period of five years from 1 January 2012.

The VRQA assessed the Melbourne College of Divinity application in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Education and Training Reform Act 2006 and the National Protocols and Guidelines for establishing Australian universities.

The VRQA Board has authorised the publication of the MCD Assessment Panel Report (PDF - 481Kb)

The report of the panel was the key document in the VRQA’s decision making process, which is summarised in the MCD contextualising statement (PDF - 124Kb).  

Below is a list of public responses received by the VRQA in relation to the MCD application. The responses are available as PDF (Portable Document Format) files that can be downloaded by clicking on the PDF icon in the right column.

Name Title and Organisation Response received
Rev Dr Peter Adam Principal, Ridley College (PDF - 130Kb)
The Rev Dr Matthew Anstey Principal, St Barnabas' Theological College (PDF - 52Kb)
Professor David Barr* Chair, Board of Directors, Australian College of Theology (PDF - 198Kb)
Professor Warren Bebbington Acting Vice-Chancellor,  University of Melbourne (PDF - 116Kb)
Professor Chris Bellenger Principal, School of Christian Studies & Master, Robert Menzies College (PDF - 42Kb)
Rev Paul Bird CSsR Chair of Yarra Theological Union Council (PDF - 42Kb)
Emeritus Professor Gary Bouma Emeritus Professor of Sociology, Monash University (PDF - 51Kb)
Rev Rob Brown General Secretary, Uniting Church in Australia, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania (PDF - 653Kb)
Mr Robert Carmichael Audit Director, AUQA (PDF - 67Kb)
Mr Glenn Clarke Board Member, Australian College of Theology (PDF - 44Kb)
Professor Greg Craven Vice-Chancellor, Australian Catholic University (PDF - 52Kb)
Fr Steve Curtin SJ Provincial, Australian Province of the Society of Jesus (PDF - 70Kb)
Commissioner Raymond Finger Territorial Commander, The Salvation Army Australia Southern Territory (PDF - 60Kb)
The Most Reverend Dr Philip Freier Anglican Archbishop of Melbourne (PDF - 194Kb)
Professor Margaret Gardner AO Vice-Chancellor and President, RMIT University (PDF - 30Kb)
The Rev Dr Mark Harding* Dean and Chief Executive Officer, Australian College and Theology (PDF - 198Kb)
The Most Reverend Denis Hart Catholic Archbishop of Melbourne (PDF - 897Kb)
Professor Richard James Director, Centre for the Study of Higher Education, The University of Melbourne (PDF - 1.4Mb)
The Most Reverend Peter Jensen Anglican Archbishop of Sydney (PDF - 9Kb)
Mr Ian Kimber Executive Director, Tertiary & Non-State Education, DETA, Queensland (PDF - 425Kb)
Mr Andrew Lockwood-Penny MCD student (PDF - 255Kb)
Dr Grant Maple Director and Academic Dean, School of Christian Studies, Robert Menzies College (PDF - 58Kb)
Rev Alan Marr Director of Ministries, Baptist Union of Victoria (PDF - 52Kb)
Ms Wendi Masters Director, Strategic Policy, DET, NT (PDF - 58Kb)
Mr Neil McAuslan Branch Manager, Tertiary Student Support Branch, Support Branch, DEEWR (PDF - 96Kb)
Mr Adrian McComb Executive Officer, Council of Private Higher Education (PDF - 57Kb)
Associate Professor Clive Pearson Head of School, School of Theology, Charles Sturt University (PDF - 42Kb)
The Right Reverend William Ray Anglican Bishop of North Queensland (PDF - 353Kb)
Mr Jeff Rosewarne Acting Secretary, DEECD, Victoria (PDF - 87Kb)
Rev Dr Michael Semmler President, Lutheran Church of Australia (PDF - 319Kb)
Mr Richard Strickland  Chief Executive Officer, Department of Education Services, WA (PDF - 48Kb)
Dr John Woodhouse Principal, Moore Theological College (PDF - 43Kb)
Dr Ann Young Former Board Member, Australian College of Theology (PDF - 39Kb)

*joint submission