Senior secondary education in Victoria

Senior secondary education is designed to prepare students for initial entry into the workforce, for vocational education and training and higher education studies. It is undertaken in Years 11 and 12.

There are two key senior secondary education accrediting bodies in Victoria, the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA), and the International Baccalaureate (IB).

The VCAA accredits the two Victorian senior secondary qualifications, the Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) and the Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL).

The IB accredits the International Baccalaureate Diploma, which is a globally recognised senior secondary qualification.

In Victoria, the VRQA is responsible for the:

  • registration of senior secondary providers to deliver one or more senior secondary qualification:
    • in schools
    • in non-school settings.
  • registration to become a senior secondary awarding body
  • accreditation of senior secondary qualifications.

For information about applying to provide senior secondary education, see:

To search for registered senior secondary providers, see:

For information about becoming an awarding body or about accreditation of senior secondary qualifications, see: